Winners of the 2019 Western Canadian Music Artistic Awards Announced

The winners of the 2019 Western Canadian Music Artistic Awards have been revealed! Announced today at the WCMAwards Reception held at the Kwanlin Dün Cultural Centre in Whitehorse, YT, during BreakOut West, the awards celebrate the best artistic talent in western Canada. See below for the full list of Artistic Award winners.

Acclaimed singer-songwriter, Susan Aglukark, was on hand at the Awards ceremony, as she was inducted into the Western Canadian Music Hall of Fame. Aglukark’s decorated career has seen her recognized as the first Inuk artist to win a JUNO Award (3), earned her a Governor General’s Performing Arts Award for lifetime artistic achievement, and named her an officer of the Order of Canada.

The Kwanlin Dün Cultural Centre will again play host on Saturday, October 5th where the Industry Awards will be announced at the Industry Awards Brunch. Honourees include Heritage Award winner, Hank Karr, and the Kevin Walters Industry Builder Award recipient, Duncan Sinclair.

BreakOut West festival showcases get underway tonight, with the Kick-Off Concert taking place at the Kwanlin Dün Cultural Centre, featuring performances by The Dakhká Khwáan Dancers, Sarah MacDougall, and Del Barber. Over 50 of western Canada’s best emerging and established artists, from all genres, will showcase at multiple venues throughout Whitehorse from October 3–5. A full schedule of festival performances can be found here.

Festival wristbands are still available and can be purchased here. Festival-goers can redeem their online purchases of wristbands at festival venues, one hour before the first act hits the stage.

More information about the festival and conference can be found at and on the BreakOut West 2019 mobile event app, powered by CrowdCompass. Available at Apple and Google Play, the app is the place to get the most up-to-date information, and connect with other festival-goers throughout the weekend. Search BreakOut West 2019 to download the free app and get the latest updates and sneak peeks.


Blues Artist of the Year – Ndidi O – BC

BreakOut Artist of the Year – Snotty Nose Rez Kids – BC

Children’s Artist of the Year – Raffi – BC

Classical Artist / Ensemble of the Year (Sponsored by Canadian Music Centre [CMC]) – Manitoba Chamber Orchestra – MB

Classical Composer of the Year – Carmen Braden – NT

Country Artist of the Year – Brett Kissel – AB

Electronic / Dance Artist of the Year – I M U R – BC

Francophone Artist of the Year (Sponsored by Association des professionnels de la chanson et de la musique [APCM]) – Rayannah – MB

Indigenous Artist of the Year (Sponsored by APTN) – Northern Haze – NV

Instrumental Artist of the Year – Five Alarm Funk – BC

Jazz Artist of the Year – Jodi Proznick – BC

Metal / Hard Music Artist of the Year – Striker – AB

Pop Artist of the Year – Begonia – MB

Rap / Hip Hop Artist of the Year (Sponsored by Northern Touch Music Festival) – Vials – BC

Rock Artist of the Year – Dan Mangan – BC

Roots Duo / Group of the Year – Rosie & the Riveters – SK

Roots Solo Artist of the Year – Mariel Buckley – AB – Songwriter(s) of the Year (Sponsored by The Society of Composers, Authors and Music Publishers of Canada [SOCAN])
Dan Mangan, Cold In The Summer – BC

Spiritual Artist of the Year – Warren Dean Flandez – BC

Urban Artist of the Year – LOA – SK

Visual Media Composer of the Year – Jeffery Straker, The Storm Orchestral – SK

World Artist of the Year – Buckman Coe – BC


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.