Gord Downie: New Video Revealed Ahead of the Upcoming Album

In the lead up to the release of Gord Downie’s new double album, Introduce Yerself, Arts & Crafts has shared a video that documents the creation of the album’s closing song, “The North,” courtesy of directors Jennifer Baichwal and Nicolas de Pencier. The video is an intimate look at Downie in studio during the album’s recording with producer Kevin Drew, Dave Hamelin, and engineer Nyles Spencer at The Bathouse studio in Bath, Ontario.

A lot of these I wrote the words in advance,” Downie said at the time of recording. “Like poems. I’d get one or two a day and then I’d have to stop. Because that’s about all… the soul or whatever, would give up. And then, so with music, it becomes pretty easy.

The twenty-three songs of Introduce Yerself were recorded swiftly over two four-day sessions in January 2016 and February 2017, with the finished album often reflecting first takes. The album continues the collaborative relationship that last year brought the music of Downie’s historic Secret Path to life, with Drew producing and co-writing a number of songs.

Here is a piece detailing the making of the album in the New York Times

Introduce Yerself will be released on CD and digital tomorrowOctober 27. The vinyl will be in stores December 15 in a double gatefold jacket with two pull-out posters. It is available for purchase via Arts & Crafts and Gord Downie, along with Downie’s solo records Coke Machine Glow (2001) and Battle Of The Nudes (2003).



1. First Person
2. Wolf’s Home
3. Bedtime
4. Introduce Yerself
5. Coco Chanel No. 5
6. Ricky Please
7. Safe Is Dead
8. Spoon
9. A Natural
10. Faith Faith
11. My First Girlfriend
12. Yer Ashore
13. Love Over Money
14. You Me And The B’s
15. Snowflake
16. A Better End
17. Nancy
18. Thinking About Us
19. The Road
20. You Are The Bird
21. The Lake
22. Far Away And Blurred
23. The North


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.